Sethu crowned champion

BENGALURU, DHNS

Though he was denied a ninth-straightwin, Rajiv Sethu, the 25-year-old from Chennai, crowned himself champion in the premier Pro-Stock 301-400cc Open category on debut as the fifth and final round of the MRF MMSC fmsci Indian National Motorcycle Racing Championship concluded at the Madras International Circuit in Chennai on Sunday.

Also clinching the National titles were Hyderabad's Vignesh Goud of Race'ists Motorcycle Club (Novice - Stock 165cc) and Puducherry's Lani Zena Fernandez of RACR Castrol Powerl Ultimate (Girls - Stock 165cc). The championship standings in the ProStock 165cc Open category were not declared pending settlement of a disputed result in Round 4.

Even as Sethu, nursing an injured left shoulder, delivered a third-straight rider championship to his team, RACR Castrol Powerl Ultimate, in the Pro-Stock 301-400cc Open category, it was young Sarthak Chavan, the 16-year-old from Pune from the Petronas TVS Racing stable who scripted a stirring win after starting from Pl7.

He passed a flagging Sethu on the last lap for the biggest victory of his blossoming National championship career.

Meanwhile, Bengaluru's Savion Sabu gave a rousing



Rajiv Sethu strikes a pose after claiming the championship in the premier Pro-stock Open category.

finish to his season by achieving a double in the Novice (Stock 165ce) race, but his winning burst did not stop Vignesh Goud from clinching the championship in this cat-

egory.
Provisional results (all 8 laps unless mentioned): National Champlon-ship - Pro-Stock 301-400cc Open (Race-2): 1. Sarthak Chavan (Pune, Petronas TVS Racing) (14mins, 59,041sec); 2. Rahil Pillarisetty (Hyderabad, KTM Gusto Racing) (1459,556); 3. Rajiv Sethu (Chennal, RACR Castrol Power 1 Ultimate) (1459,656).

Pro-Stock 165cc Open (Race-2, 5 laps): 1. Rajlv Sethu (Chennal, RACR Castroi Power 1 Ultimate) (09:55.075); 2. Sarthak Chavan (Pune, Petronas TVS Racing) (09:56.286); 3. Chiranth Vishwanath (Bengaluru, Petronas TVS Racing) (09:57.533). Rider champiort Not declared pending enquiry. Team champions: Not declared pending enquiry.

Novice (Stock 165cc, Race-2, 6 laps): 1. Savion Sabu (Bengaluru, Axor Sparks Racing) (12:56.237); 2. Kaushik Subbiah Ganesan (Chennal, AS Motorsports) (12:56.400); 3. Aadit Shah (Vadodara, Axor Sparks Racing) (12:56.667).

Girls (Stock 165cc) 3 laps: 1. Lanl Zena Fernandez (Pucucherry, RACR Castroi Power 1 Ultimate) (06:40.083); 2. Nadine Faith Balaji (Chennal, Alpha Racing) (06:54.558); 3. Adlin Seles (Chennal, Alpha Racing) (07:00.642).

Idemitsu Honda India Talent Cup-NSF 250R Open (Race-2): 1. Kavin Quintal (Chennal) (15:09.312); 2. Johann Reeves Emmanuel (Chennal) (15:14.912); 3. Mohsin P (Mallapuram) (15:14.974).

Petronas TVS One-Make Championship: Open (301-400cc, RR 310) Race-2 (6 laps): 1. Chiranth Vishwanath (Bengaluru) (11:39.641); 2. Romario John (Chennal) (11:40.117); 3. G Baiaji (Chennal) (11:40.157).

Media (Apache RTR) Race-1 (5 laps): 1. Joel Kolathoor Raju (Thane) (11:19.208): 2 Alishin K Thomas (Pune) (11:19.312): 3. Ananya Awasthi (Pune) (11:19.646). Race-2 (5 laps): 1. Alishin K Thomas (Pune) (11:15.520): 2. Joel Kolathoor Raju (Thane) (11:15.642): 3 Punya Prasun Sharma (11:21.399).